top of page

History of Our School

History of Our School - Stair na Scoile

Scoil Chríost Rí
The first school was set up in the chapel after the Board of Education Act of 1831 bringing the National School System into being. This parochial house was in operation until the famine. In 1850 a national school was built opposite the chapel. It had a teacher's residence at the western end of the building . The first teacher was Matthew Doyle who taught until 1891, he had been taught at a hedge himself. The present building opened in 1902, built by Clarence of Ballysadare and James Jordan & Sons. 

Mr. and Mrs McInerney took up duty in the new school and continued until Mr McInerney's death in 1924. He was replaced by Mr M. Keogan from Cavan. Mrs McInerney retired in 1926 and was replaced by Mrs Mc Carrick who was teaching in Cappagh. The Cappagh vacancy was filled by Miss Mary JaneMcInerney - daughter of the McInerneys; later in 1926 both Mr Keogan and Miss McInerney secured positions in Cavan. 

The vacancy in Rockfield was filled by Mr Kevin Devine. Kevin was appointed to Carrowmore in 1943 and Mrs Mc Guinness filled the vacancy in Rockfield. The principalship was later filled by Mr Eamon Mc Guinness son of Mrs Mc Guinness and he subsequently joined the Dept. Of Education inspectorate. Mr Seamus Harkin, Mr Brendan Kelly and Mr Eamon Mullen served as principal for short periods.

In January 1979 Ignatius Henry was appointed as principal. In 1971 schools in the parish were amalgamated; both Cappagh and Killoran schools closed and the children from both areas were transported to Rockfield. G.W.I. erected a chalet classroom at this time; however it wasn't occupied until September 1979 when a second assistant was appointed -Mrs Mc Hugh.

Over the years, Maura Conheady, Margaret Keane, Sinéad Gallagher, Mary Clarke, Gabrielle Hosey, Paul Lundy and Carmel Ní Shuilleabháin all taught in Rockfield.

In June 2010 Ignatius Henry retired and Marlene Scanlon took up position as Principal. In June 2014 Ann McHugh retired and we wish them both health and happiness.


The 2022/2023 staff comprises of eight mainstream classes from Junior Infants to Sixth class, two special education teachers, three special needs assistants and a secretary.


Principal: Marlene Scanlon

Junior Infants: Karen Maye

Senior Infants: Roxanne Cawley

First Class: Karen McIntyre

Second Class: Aishling Niland

Third Class: Áine Leonard

Fourth Class: Laura Murray

Fifth Class: Nicola Forde/ Mairéad Clancy

Sixth Class: Donna Egan

Special Education Teachers: David Bartley and John Liddy

Special Needs Assistants: Eileen Molloy, Geraldine Casey and Pat Gilmartin

School Secretary: Marion Gilmartin

history 5.jpg
history 1.jpg
history 3.jpg
bottom of page